About The Bellydance Blog


After talking to a dance buddy of mine (check her blog out here!), I’ve decided I will start a blog. I have a photography one already, so I may as well write about my true passion and first love, bellydance.

I want to tell you a bit about my dance history, even though it’s as boring as all sin. My family is a very ballet-orientated family because my gran used to play piano for exams back in the day before CDs or Cassette Tapes. My mom did ballet, and both of my sisters have done it. My middle sister, Sam, still does it and absolutely loves it! Nicole, my oldest sister, did ballet until she was 17 and then at 25, switched to ballroom. Unfortunately, she’s stopped because she moved and can’t find a decent studio near to where she lives. I did ballet as a 5 year old and hated it. It wasn’t ever for me, and I’m sure had I continued, I would have grown to like it. When I was 12 I started dance classes again, this time doing Jazz and Hip Hop. I knew I was never as good as some of the girls in my class, and after two years I gave up. When I was 16, I wanted to do Latin American dancing with a friend, but couldn’t find a studio. Instead, I found a bellydance studio and thought I’d try their beginners course. After the first class I was hooked! And I’ve been dancing for 2 years. I absolutely love it and I have totally unrealistic expectations as to where I’d like to take my dance career.

In this blog, I want to talk about my dance life. I will give my opinion on things and ask for advice — after all, I’m just a beginner!

Every now and then I’ll try and post a video, or link to my YouTube account and I would be grateful for any corrections you can provide.

As somebody once said to me, “Bellydancers who add each other on social networks are just friends who haven’t met yet.”

Happy shimmies!

xoxo

~A

2 comments

  1. You def found your niche with belly dancing! Even though you say you werent much good at jazz, I think having a dance background always helps. I did modern for a couple of years and although I wouldnt say it was my favourite, it has def helped me with body awareness. Having read your family dance history, can see why you are a natural performer!

    Keep the blog up- am enjoying it so far!

  2. Just found your blog and figured I’d comment! I’ve been having trouble blogging myself lately on belly dance. Mostly been posting events and inspirational tidbits. Good luck with your dance! xo! Another sister in dance ~Joanna

Leave a Reply

