Costume-making frenzy!


About a year ago, I decided I wanted to make a seriously glitzy cabaret belly dance outfit because I’ve outgrown my last one! I settled on horrifically bright colours – pink and orange!! I managed to get a bit of the bra done but then I lost all my inspiration for making the outfit and I just left it in a corner. Recently, my sister came to stay with us for a few days and she took me to get some material which resulted in me changing the whole outfit. 🙂 Still pink, but I scrapped the orange and decided on purple!

Belly-bra progress!

The skirt I want to make will look similar to the one in this video from my friend Ebony of EbonyIvoryBellydance YouTube fame. 🙂 I like the slits and half circle back half (although my slits won’t be as high up)! I think it flows really nicely and will look awesome once I’m done. It’ll be the bright pink material (as shown below) then covered with a clear purple material so that the pink material is still visible but not as harshly. That’s for the back half-circle piece. The front I think I’ll keep pink… hmm..

PIIIIIINK!!

Now this is where I need YOUR help, desperately!! The original plan was to have pink and orange with gold embellishments, but now that I’ve swapped the purple and the orange, I’m thinking maybe I should use silver embellishments instead?

I have an ‘inspiration’ book, where I sketch ideas for outfits, and (only recently) print pictures and glue sequins into the book for colour ideas. So I thought I’d give you a look into that book with some pictures!

The Cover

Inside

The latest piece

My mini-choreo book

And here are the close ups of the two pieces I’m pulling for inspiration for the purple outfit!

Outfit 1

Outfit 2

Sorry for this INCREDIBLY long post!! 🙂 Let me know what you think of everything! Comments are always welcome! And please subscribe on the —> side!

2 comments

  1. Hey lady!
    Good for you for getting back on the horse (so to speak) with the outfit making. And good luck with it. I *love* that you have an “inspiration” book, that is such a good idea. I particularly love the 2nd of the two outfit pictures you put up – there’s something really luxurious about the bra top having that particular piece of fabric come up from the cups and around as a strap. Really elegant and beautiful. Good find!

    Best of the luck!

Leave a Reply

