Zills, Camera & Christmas


It’s been over a week since I last wrote… but I haven’t exactly had something to write about – until yesterday!! I’m VERY proud to announce that I got myself some zills!!

But I’ll talk about that in a minute! I first want to “vocalize” my pain when I went sequin shopping. I went to 3 different shops in my area and didn’t find silver. Now, you’re probably thinking “How could they not have silver?”, which is a question I tore my hair out about for ages. The thing that they all the shop assistants pointed out to me was that they do indeed have silver! But it was grey-silver, or purple-silver, or rainbow-coloured silver. NO plain old fashioned SILVER sequins. And then on top of it, when I DID find myself the right shade of silver it was the round sequins, not the octagon shaped one, OR they weren’t the usual size ones, they were massive things. I gave up.

On Tuesday, I went out with a friend of mine for a drive around Cape Town to take photos and just spend a day out. We ended up going to a bunch of places that we didn’t plan to go to, which was awesome! Towards the end of the day, we stopped at Canal Walk (a mall) to get something to eat (sushi!!). When we were done, we wandered the mall looking at all the little shops and all the Christmas specials. My friend had to go and check something at a cellphone shop and across the way was a bead shop, so of course I went in! And in it, I found……… SILVER SEQUINS! I was so excited I bought 2 packets! hehe! Unfortunately, they didn’t have the right shade of purple and pink so I was just happy to buy the silver. 🙂

A little while later we went to a bookstore, and I immediately looked for Eragon by Christopher Paolini (if you like fantasy, you’ll LOVE this!) because I’ve been reading the series (again) for the last week. It was R100, and I was debating whether I should buy it or not. In the end I decided that I should save my money instead. As we were walking out of the shop, my friend grabs something off the shelf by the exit and show it to me. “Bellydance kit” with zills, a book and a CD! I grabbed it from him and ran to pay for it, without even thinking about it! 🙂 It was R99, so it was fate that I wasn’t supposed to buy Eragon. 🙂

Zills

I was so excited I played the zills the whole way home (45min drive)! I looked for some good instructional videos on YouTube so that I could practice (my next set of DVDs I want to bring in will include a zills DVD) and I found this:

I spent some time today practicing and I’m getting quite used to having the weights on my fingers. 🙂

In other news, I got my camera yesterday!!!! A Canon 450D !I don’t know what to say except that I have the best parents in the world! 🙂 I need it for next year, so I knew I was getting it, and its not a Christmas present either. 🙂 But I think it’s the best gift I’ve gotten! It means that I can get my photoblog going in January again and then I’ll have 2 blogs to keep up with!

I’ll write again next week – probably after New Years. So have a wonderful festive season, spend time with family, share love, joy & peace. 🙂

Merry Christmas!

6 comments

  1. Hey just tripped over your blog – I am a not practising bellydancer here in NZ and also a photographer and blogger – and I posted this link about taking photos of a bellydancer here

    http://lensaddiction.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/bellydancer-in-motion/

    And I love zills, it was the one thing I did that no one else in my class had much interest in and I had a solo dance with them that got dragged out by my teacher when she wanted some zill. Finding the time to practice where someone isnt going to complain about the noise is the hard thing. Enjoy!

    1. Hi there,

      just wanted to say about the noisy zill practice thing – one way I get around that is by using socks. My zills are particularly loud so what I worked out so that I didn’t drive my neighbours crazy was to put a sock over the 4 fingers of each hand, leaving the thumb free. It still makes a little bit of noise but not too much. One caveat though – this will probably destroy the socks you use (it has worn holes in the socks I’ve used) so maybe pick old ones that you’d be throwing away otherwise.

      Another alternative (if you have the time and sewing skills) is to make little fabric covers for each of your zills. That will also muffle the noise when you practice.

      All the best, Shelley 🙂

  2. Alex, I thought of you when I was in Turkey as they were selling zills at this one shop for the SA equivalent of R40. They looked quite nice as well. I wanted to sms you and ask if I should get you some as I remember you saying that the only pair you could find was seriously expensive, but the shop was closed and I left Turkey the next day. Glad you managed to get hold of a pair! I am still struggling along with mine 😉

Leave a Reply

