Sewing 1 – Blog 0


It’s so typical that the minute I start getting my creative juices flowing in other aspects, my inspiration completely dries up for this blog! I have written about 4 or 5 different blog posts that I ended up scrapping because I wasn’t “feeling it”.

The inspiration for my sewing has been pretty high lately and I desperately want to get to a fabric shop because I have crazy ideas! Unfortunately, I probably need to travel around a bit to get some decent fabric because the selection we have at our local shop is rather dismal. I mean, you can do a lot with it, but often times the trimmings are pretty generic and don’t look great most of the time. I’m a little lazy this morning and I don’t feel like hauling my camera out to take photos of my sewing so I’ve decided that it’ll be a secret! Convenient, eh? But I did take some photos with my webcam of the fabric and the handiwork on the inside of my bra.

Fabric, isn't it pretty! - please excuse my sleepy face, I just woke up. 🙂

Ugly inside of the bra - can't wait to cover that up with something

I still need to do the straps, but the side straps are done! I used denim as my base, after asking around a bit I found it would work fine. A lot of people suggested grosgrain ribbon, but I thought I’d go for denim for this one and then see how it holds up. I was going to have a double layer of it, but after cutting one layer, I realised it might be enough. Like I said, I’ll see how it holds up – it’s all about experimentation!

Writing this blog post is actually making me really amped to work on my bra! [“amped” – you can see how hanging out with BMXers is rubbing off on me!]

I taught my first beginners class last week! It was NERVE wrecking! 2 people in the class, and one of the woman has danced before, but stopped dancing when she had her 2 kids so it’s a little challenging. This week, I was really sick so I asked the studio owner to take over my class and apparently only 1 person was there [the experienced one] so that might make my lesson planning a little easier because I can make it more challenging for her. I have much more respect for teachers now that I’ve tried, because to reach a class in a way that everybody can understand takes skill. I think teaching is something you either can or can’t do – not something you learn! Well… obviously you can learn it, but for some it’s more natural than others.

Please, please email me, Facebook me, Tweet me if there are any topics you would like me to cover? Use the CONTACT page for all my details. 🙂

Much love!

One comment

  1. SOOoo lucky!

    We did sewing and stuff at school, but I don’t have a creative bone in my body (I swear, my mum says I would burn lettuce) If I attempted these things I would have my fingers full of holes and the lovely cloth stained in blood! :-/

    Love the blog, dear. Keep the creative juices flowing 🙂

    xXx

    Jells

Leave a Reply

