Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011!


Happy New Year!Happy New Year 2011!

2010 had a lot of ups and downs for me. But overall I see it as a positive year and I feel that as a person and as a dancer I’ve grown quite a lot from it! Not as many dance gigs happened this year for me in comparison to 2009 when I had a gig almost every month. But I do plan to change that slightly by advertising as a dancer for functions and events.

But I do have some exciting news! Maya Troupe (us!) will be putting on our first big belly dance show in Somerset West. I will post more details once I have been given the ‘go-ahead’. We have the venue booked with the dates – 24, 25 & 26 March. We will have other dance forms as well – some modern dancing, some karate-type of dancing, djembe players and fire dancing! We’re currently being trained to learn fire dancing (incredibly difficult, I keep hitting myself in the head!) and I’m teaching once a week as well as attending class, while balancing finding a seamstress to make pants for us, finding a djembe player, making the poster as well as the tickets and then still learning a new dance.

 

The principal dancer and owner of our studio has dislocated her knee, just after she completed a new choreography. So I was invited to her house to learn this dance’s moves off a performance DVD she has, adapt them like she did, learn the notes, the music and teach it in 2 weeks! Absolute craziness, but it’s getting done.

 

I must apologize for being the worst blogger in the history of bloggers. I left you high and dry for 2 months with no blog post, so hopefully I can make it up to you by writing some posts before the end of this month – I have some controversial topics to cover that I’ve been putting off, but I’ll put on my big-girl panties and deal with the inevitable tongue lashings I will get. (Or, in some perfect world, you’ll all agree with me!)

Hope your 2011 is fantastic!

 

X

One comment

  1. Missed your posts Alex!

    Know what you mean about the gigs- I also did a whole lot more events last year! Think its just down to the belly dance community so rapidly expanding, which is a good thing at the end of the day.

    I am REALLY looking forward to your show! Cannot wait! We plan on doing one in Jan next year.

    And hurry up with the posts on those touchy subjects- I do love your feisty opinions and so enjoy a good debate! 😉

Leave a Reply

