Hafla Performance Video


I have finally received the footage of my video performance from the BellyRing Hafla, which I spoke about in my previous post. I am strangely optimistic about this performance, overall I am pleased with it but there are many areas I would like to improve. I know well enough this time to pat myself on the back for doing well and then still say “what were you doing THERE though?” At some point I’ll write a blog post with all of my “need to work on” points and then you’ll look back on this video and go “ohhh ok! I see it now!”

I welcome constructive criticism, so feel free to give me advice. However, don’t use this as an opportunity to bash me.

10 comments

  1. I can’t believe you succeeded in layering chest drops with the maya. That’s one of the hardest moves in Serpentine! You should be proud, though, your performance is very nice! The music is fast and I think you nailed it without looking rushed. Yay!

    1. I think you’re one of the few people who noticed that it was from Serpentine! πŸ™‚ When I saw Rachel doing it in the choreography I thought “Challenge accepted! I HAVE to do that!” It’s a really tough move to do that fast though. o.O It looks a little bit small though – will have to work on that!
      Thank you very much for your kind words! πŸ™‚ Do you have a YouTube account? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a video of you performing… hmm.

  2. I do have a YouTube account. It’s under famousfeline. There’s a video of my troupe’s performance excerpts, but not the whole video of me. An English teacher told me once that if when we’re able to reread what we’ve written without cringing / embarrassment, then we’ve truly mastered the art of writing. I’m applying it to dance: I’m still treating my performance videos like horror movies, they’re sooo frightening to look at, so I don’t upload videos of myself. *sigh*

    Please advise me, if you don’t mind. When you’re starting out the chest drop maya layer, do you practice first with the chest drops and then layer it with maya, or what? Because that’s what I do and I still can’t get the hang of it. Thank you in advance!

    1. Sorry it’s taken so long to reply… Everytime I sit down to reply I get distracted by other things! hehe!
      It is scary to watch videos of yourself, but I’m feeling more and more ok with my videos – and I don’t think it has anything to do with the increasing skill level over the years, I’m just more accepting. I look at my performance and think “wow, well done on the XYZ but I need to work on the ABC more.” And then I walk away!! Otherwise I can spend hours watching my videos and feeling depro about it.

      I practiced the maya and THEN layered the chest drops. I felt (and I could be wrong) that the chest drops are controlled more by my stomach muscles than my back muscles. Almost like I’m breathing in (except without actually using my breath to do the movement, otherwise I would pass out!!) For me Mayas are very easy and are almost second nature, so I started out doing the Mayas very slowly and then added a chest lift and chest drop with each Maya. So (for example) when my hip goes out to the right, I lifted my chest, when my hip goes to the left, I dropped it. And then sped it up.
      I love Rachel’s DVD, but I wish she explained the moves in the dances a TAD more.

      Good luck! Let me know how it goes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

